Competition, Pittore di strada, 2013

Last Saturday, I participated in the local art competition, Pittori di strada, here in Ascona.  I didn’t win any prize, but I had the opportunity to compete against many talented and also well known artists!

It was a beautiful sunny Saturday.  I started the day fairly early.  I was in the town square (Ascona Piazza) at about 0830 with a freshly new canvas and palette at hand.  There were at least 10 names on the list of participants ahead of me when I got there.  At least 3 painters were claiming the best spots in the piazza:  under the shade of the big Sycamores.

A long, and challenging day was ahead of me.  Nevertheless, painting anything in under 8 hours wasn’t the biggest challenge of my life, but finding the perfect spot to paint on canvas was!

Ascona is a place I’ve called home for about 3 years.  Coffees at the piazza,and walks through the stony streets of this city are an every day thing for me.  I love this town!  Hence, I cannot say I prefer this place over another place in the city.

I went all over the city the day before the competition and settled for the view I painted in the end:  the port from bar 7.

I had many visitors during the time I stayed there painting.  In fact, a nice gentleman told me I had chosen the same view a famous Asconese artist had painted back in the ’60s!

In the end, we all handed our paintings for viewing.  I found it fascinating to see the many variations and interpretations of a one common subject.  In fact, no one said it better than the director of the Cultural department:  that day was the day when everyone can see the city in a new light and in many different views!

Ascona is a beautiful city and the competition made me realize how lucky I am to live here!  Below are pictures of the many spots I considered painting for the competition:Image ImageImageImage

 

This last picture is the image I ended up painting for the competition.  I hope you see now how hard it was to find THE perfect spot!!

Leave a Reply

