A special spot in Canada

Pencils, color pencils, crayons, pens, and erasers. Those were the only things I thought I needed to create a world made entirely by me. I was a content child.

Then I turned 14.

I was living in Canada when I took art seriously. My art teacher introduced me to all sorts of materials and techniques that helped me recreate far away lands. Those were never imaginary places but spots I had only seen in pictures and on tv.

It never crossed my mind to paint Canadian landscapes. I thought there was no one else but Emely Carr, to let Canadians see the beauty and spiritual essence of my beloved Western coast. I also thought there was no one like Lawren Harris to translate the magical secrets of the Canadian Artic, or the Rocky mountains.

It’s not till this summer that I understood my necessity to capture what other well known Canadian artists have already accomplished:  to create a visual poetry of the places that have seen us grow…of the places we call home…of a giant beauty that Canada is!

I chose to paint, as my first Canadian subject, a little lagoon in the outskirts of Banff.  Not only do I think of Banff as a spectacular town (because of its geographical position), but also as a place where I’ve made so many meaningful memories.  This is why one of my special spots in Canada is Banff!

Look me up (!!!):  New Blood Art CANADA:  www.newbloodart.ca

 

 

My first version:   simple in terms of colors, still complex as a subject.

My first version: simple in terms of colors, yet complex as a subject.

 

My second version:  a more complex paintings in terms of colors.  I felt it'd be a shame to omit the wonderful colors of this little lagoon.

My second version: a more complex paintings in terms of colors. I felt it’d be a shame to omit the wonderful colors of this little lagoon.

 

 

 

  

Leave a Reply

