La mucca al pascolo

There she was.  At last I had found the one.  Although she was not my soul-mate, she was simply, my ultimate and most desirable “subject.”  And what a subject she was!

I have heard her bell not far from the medieval arched bridge, exiting Puntid, in the Calnegia valley.  I felt absurd, chasing the sound of cow bells.  Like the hide and seek game, I was obsessed with trying to figure out where the sound came from.  After all, I was already there, on top of the Foroglio Falls.  My mission was clear.  I had to capture in pencil the biggest oxymoron ever created by me:  a cute beast…a live cow!

I slowly moved in to sit as close as I could to the one cow that caught my eye.  As she chewed her never ending meal, I quickly grabbed my acrylics and started painting.  It was all good till the beast decided she had had enough.  “I’ve been hit, something hurts!”  My body sprang into action.  In a split of a second, I saw myself jump behind a boulder, paints and paper in hand.  I was bleeding and feeling like I had just walked into a nightmare!

Once the bruises and shock subsided, I came down the mountain a happy woman.

To say that “the mucca al pascolo,” is my most special piece of art is an under statement!  Nevertheless, I think I will stick to painting landscapes over moving, live, subjects.

The grazing cow

The grazing cow

2 thoughts on “La mucca al pascolo

  1. Hahaha! You poor thing. By the way, that cow doesn’t look like it’s grazing. More like in kill-and-maim mode. But…job well done. Beautiful work once again, girl!

Leave a Reply

