Dolomiti di Brenta

My heart was beating to full capacity.  Nasty thoughts were invading my head…why on earth had I not decided to stay down the village?  Why was I torturing my legs this way?  Hiking up with dangling things on my feet (actual name…rackets) felt like an agony.  I was walking up to Monte Spinale, all the way down from Madonna di Campiglio.  The plan sounded feasible, after all, I have hiked over 400m elevation before, and without a problem!

As I approached the last turn before hitting flat land, I took a quick glance at what seemed, rocks protruding from the ground.  The Dolomites, like a male great tit in a courtship display, swelled its peaks to deviate my attention from my pain and discomfort.  Suddenly, I felt in paradise.  The Dolomites of Brenta are the most breathtaking mountains I have ever seen.

In the bitter cold I took my camera out to catch a bit of the beauty I was lucky to contemplate.  How lucky we are to live in this beautiful planet, don’t you agree?

As I approached the last turn...

As I approached the last turn…

Mountains getting bigger

Mountains getting bigger

And bigger

And bigger

Closed and personal

Closed and personal

Dolomiti di  Brenta from far and away

Dolomiti di Brenta from far and away

One thought on “Dolomiti di Brenta

  1. And what a reward! Beautiful! I’m the same. After approx. 35 mins of running I reach the top of the dune (yeah, kind of like an aborted mountain…) and that firsts view always feels like I’m awarded a prize 🙂 Yes, yes, pretty lucky!

Leave a Reply

