Dear House

My very first visit to site was on May 25th, 2015. I remembered it a warm Spring day. I took some pictures looking for the right angle. With me, my client, and her daughters, were busy talking and taking pictures. We had Italian icecream from the store around the corner!

The actual house.

The actual house.

I returned to site the second week of June, 2015. I got some paper, my watercolors, and a clear image of what I wanted to capture on canvas. The back of the house with its back garden were without a doubt, my favorite spots of the house. I sat on the tall grass and started sketching.

My favorite sketch.

My favorite sketch.

I took note of the tall palm tree and bushes next to the main door of the basement suite. I wondered how many years these silent giants had looked down on the family that used to live there. The garden, although now abandoned, still radiated beauty with its flowers along its edges. The small wooden fence separating the garden from the rest of the house, gave my sketch that „human touch,“ or that sense of belonging. The title of this project became clear at this point: „Dear house.“ I was indeed painting someone’s special corner– a house that saw the coming and going of a family who once lived there, a world of their own.

Sketch and painting in progress.

Sketch and painting in progress.

I didn’t stop sketching till all my ideas were captured on all the sketches I made that day. I started painting onto canvas the following nights in my studio in Ascona.

Dear house, finished.

Dear house, finished.

Leave a Reply

